Tag Archives: televenge

Meet Pamela King Cable

When did you fall in love with books?

 

My love affair with books began at a very early age while my mother read Mother Goose over and over until I knew each nursery rhyme by heart. I’m reminded of that as I read to my two-year-old granddaughter who would rather read than play with Elmo. I still have the book my mother read to me. It’s dog-eared, spotted, and appears as if one of my siblings chewed off a corner years ago. Later, when my friends were reading Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys, I was reading my mother’s romance paperbacks, and my dad’s F. Scott Fitzgerald novels. There was no turning back.

 

When did you realize you wanted to write?

 

In the sixth grade I wrote a story, My Pal, Joey … about a dog. I’ll never forget the title, because it made every girl in the class cry. The art of storytelling pulses through my blood. In my father’s family, the gift of telling tall tales has been passed down through generations. I treasured the sound of my family’s voices as they gossiped during canning season, whispered in church, and sang their hearts out during revival week. Their stories became a part of me, and part of what flew out of my head and onto the page.

 

Tell us about yourself. 

 

I was born in the South, a coal miner’s granddaughter, but my father escaped the mines, went to college and moved his family to Ohio to work for the rubber companies in 1959. Raised by a tribe of wild Pentecostals and storytellers, I write about religion and spirituality with mystical twists unearthed from my family’s history. I spent every weekend as a little girl traveling back to the West Virginia Mountains.

 

My memories of my childhood run as strong as a steel-belted radial tire and as deep as an Appalachian swimming hole. As a little girl, I was a transplanted hick in a Yankee schoolroom. But the dust laden roads in the coal towns of the ‘sixties are where my career as a writer was born.

 

For me, it is within sanctuaries of brick and mortar; places of clapboard and canvas that characters hang ripe for picking. From the primitive church services of the mountain clans to the baptisms and sacraments in cathedrals and synagogues all over the world. From the hardworking men and women who testify in every run-down house of God in America to the charismatic high-dollar high-tech evangelicals televised in today’s megachurches, therein lie stories of unspeakable conflict, the forbidden, and often, the unexplained.

 

I have taught at many writing conferences, and speak to book clubs, women’s groups, national and local civic organizations, and at churches across the country.

 

Who are your favorite authors?

 

Pat Conroy, Diana Gabaldon, Barbara Kingsolver, Dorothy Allison, Kaye Gibbons, Lee Smith, Cassandra King, Hillary Jordan, Fannie Flagg, and Harper Lee.

 

What are your favorite books?

Beach Music, Outlander, Poisonwood Bible, Bastard out of Carolina, Ellen Foster, The Last Girls, Same Sweet Girls, When She Woke, Green Fried Tomatoes, and To Kill A Mockingbird.

 

Are you currently working on anything new? If so, please give a brief synopsis and when should we expect it?

 

I’m working on the final edits of my next book, The Sanctum.

 

Neeley McPherson accidentally killed her parents on her fifth birthday. Thrown into the care of her scheming and alcoholic grandfather, she is raised by his elderly farmhand, Gideon, a black man, whom she grows to love. Neeley turns thirteen during the winter of 1959, and when Gideon is accused of stealing a watch and using a Whites Only restroom, she determines to break him out of jail.

 

The infamous Catfish Cole, Ku Klux Klan Grand Dragon of the Carolinas, pursues Neeley and Gideon in their courageous escape to the frozen Blue Ridge Mountains. After Gideon’s truck hits ice and careens down a steep slope, they travel on foot through a blizzard, and arrive at a farm of sorts—a wolf sanctuary where Neeley crosses the bridge between the real and the supernatural. It is here she discovers her grandfather’s deception, confronts the Klan, and uncovers the shocking secrets of the Cherokee family who befriends her. Giving sanctuary, the healing power of second chances, and overcoming prejudice entwine, leading Neeley to tragedy once again but also granting her the desire of her heart.

 

The Sanctum is a coming-of-age Southern tale dusted with a bit of magic, and set in a volatile time in America when the winds of change begin to blow.

 

I am also working on a sequel for Televenge.

 

What makes you unique as an author?

 

Born in the South and raised in the North, my influence comes naturally from both regions. I find that if you say you’re a Southern writer, people think you only write about the South. While most of my writing does gravitate to Southern states, folks everywhere identify with it. Working and living in both the North and South—it’s given me a broader view of both. A richer impact to my writing. Who I am influences me as a writer. Not where I live. I cannot deny the Northern part of me, any more than I can deny the Southern blood that runs through my veins.

 

Why should readers pick up your books?

 

Simply because once you do, you can’t put it down.

 

“Pamela King Cable’s debut novel breathes good and evil, frost and fire. You can finish it, but it won’t let you go.”

Jacquelyn Mitchard, NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling Author of The Deep End of the Ocean

 

“It’s impossible to deny the magic of Pamela King Cable’s prose. Televenge is an extraordinary look at the evangelical church. A journey of love, pain, and redemption with the most heartbreaking heroine to come along in years. If you read only one book this year, this is it.”

Dena Harris, author of Who Moved My Mouse?

 

Televenge is “ … an emotional rollercoaster that ends as intensely as it begins  . . . those who commit to Cable’s tome will find themselves captivated and deeply devoted to Andie. Fans of Fannie Flagg and Janet Evanovich will be hooked on this saga of religion, romance, and crime.”

Library Journal Editor’s Pick BookExpo America 2012

Shannon Marie Robinson, Library Journal

 

“A captivating, beautifully rendered, unforgettable look at a world so few of us understand. Ms. Cable has courageously opened the door…and my eyes.”

Lesley Kagen, NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling Author of Good Graces

 

How can readers connect with you?

 

Web site: http://www.pamelakingcable.com

Facebook Book page: https://www.facebook.com/southernfriedwomen

Twitter: @pamelakingcable

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Pamela-King-Cable/e/B001K8VUMS/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1343339600&sr=1-1

Book Trailer: http://www.televenge.com/trailer.html

Book Trailer: http://tinyurl.com/televenge-thestory

 

 

Advertisements

Blog Tour: Televenge by Pamela King Cable

 

Title: Televenge

Author: Pamela King Cable

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Review:

Pamela King Cable took me to a world I did not know existed until I read Televenge. In this work of fiction, we are introduced to a young lady named Andie who simply wants to be a wife and a mother. Andie’s family is not completely ‘sold’ on the local church and their larger-than-life minister but her husband, Joe and his family are so involved as if they are brainwashed.

Reverend Calvin Artury is the minister of this church and he has ambitions beyond his local congregation. Artury believes he should be a worldwide phenomenon and will not stop at anything to gain his fame. The church seemed to be like a cult and it has all of the drama and suspense that one could only imagine.

Pamela King Cable has written a novel that will keep you engaged and at times shaking your head wondering what really happened. Southern mega churches are not something I am not familiar with and Televenge has made me want to learn more about this culture. It should be noted that this book is not anti-religion but it more one of against those individuals that misuse their power. Televenge is definitely a book worth reading! 4 stars

Synopsis:

Andie Oliver is a faithful woman—to God, to husband Joe, and to televangelist Calvin Artury, a Godfather in a Mafia of holy men. Joe works limitless hours on the megachurch ministry team, falling deeper into debauchery, while Andie attempts to free him from the Reverend’s control and far-reaching influence. Uncovering long-hidden truths—even murder—she loses everything, including her children. Andie fights for redemption for her family and herself, confronting the very definition of sin, and shaking the Christian evangelical world to its core. Evading ruthless adversaries who will go to any lengths to protect Reverend Artury, Andie battles the dark side of televangelism.

 

About the Author:

 

Pamela King Cable was born a coal miner’s granddaughter and raised by a tribe of wild Pentecostals and storytellers. She is an award-winning, multi-published author who loves to write about religion and spirituality with paranormal twists she unearths from her family’s history. Married to a megachurch ministry team member as a young adult, she attended years of megachurch services. Pamela studied creative writing at The University of Akron and Kent State University. She has taught at many writing conferences, and speaks to book clubs, women’s groups, national and local civic organizations, and at churches across the country. Nearly a decade in the writing, Televenge is her debut novel. She lives in Ohio with her husband, Michael, and is currently working on her next novel.

Author’s Websites:                                                  

Website – www.pamelakingcable.com

Blog – www.southernfriedwoman.blogspot.com

Twitter – @pamelakingcable

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/southernfriedwomen

%d bloggers like this: